Sunday, May 15, 2011

The #87 Album of All-Time in the Rock Era--"Double Vision" by Foreigner

After the tremendous success of their debut album, Foreigner released Double Vision on June 20, 1978.  Although the first album was good, the group stepped it up for this release and the tracks were more consistent.  Two megahits were featured on the album, "Hot Blooded" and the title track.  Foreigner went on to become one of the top hard rock bands of all-time.

The album was eagerly anticipated; it shipped platinum.  To date, Foreigner has sold 7 million copies of the album.  Double Vision peaked at #3, but the album spent 26 weeks in the Top 10 and 88 on the chart.  The Track Rating is 8.95, slightly less than the #94 album Rubber Soul by the Beatles.  But better sales, significantly more airplay and overall chart strength more than make up the difference and put Double Vision in the next slot.

Besides the two monster hits, "Blue Morning, Blue Day", featuring the keyboard work of Al Greenwood, also was released as a single.  A quality instrumental, "Tramontaine" was also featured on Double Vision.  "Love Has Taken Its Toll" and "Spellbinder" are also quality tracks from the album.  

  1. "Hot Blooded" (Lou Gramm & Mick Jones) – 4:29
  2. "Blue Morning, Blue Day" (Jones, Gramm) – 3:12
  3. "You're All I Am" (Jones) – 3:24
  4. "Back Where You Belong" (Jones) – 3:15
  5. "Love Has Taken Its Toll" (Gramm & Ian McDonald) – 3:31
  6. "Double Vision" (Jones, Gramm) – 3:44
  7. "Tramontane" (Greenwood, Jones, McDonald) – 3:55
  8. "I Have Waited So Long" (Jones) – 4:06
  9. "Lonely Children" (Jones) – 3:37
  10. "Spellbinder" (Gramm, Jones) – 4:49

 Lead singer Lou Gramm also played percussion on the album.  Famous guitarist Mick Jones also contributed piano and keyboards, Dennis Elliott was the drummer for the group, Ed Gagliardi played bass, Ian McDonald played guitar, keyboard and reeds while Al Greenwood played synthesizer and keyboard.  Ian Lloyd also helped out with background vocals.

Foreigner recorded the album from December of 1977 to March of 1978.  It was released on Atlantic Records.  Keith Olsen produced the album, along with Mick Jones and Ian McDonald.  Olsen and David De Vore engineered the project.

Foreigner checks in next on the Top 100 Albums of All-Time at #87 with Double Vision.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.